The Edinburgh Fringe One-Weeker 2016 – ‘Tis Pity She’s a Whore, 20th August 2016

Tis PityAnd we’re quickly at our last show of our first day – John Ford’s tragedy ‘Tis Pity She’s a Whore, first performed around 1633. It’s being performed by Wanton Theatre, at Paradise in Augustines, Chambers Street, at 23:15 on Saturday 20th. Here’s what the website has to say about it: “Wanton Theatre presents this Jacobean parody of Romeo and Juliet: incest, passion, blood and a disembodied heart create a ritualistic spectacle that questions the bounds not only of conventional theatre, but also of conventional morality.”

Tis PittyThe warnings promise us nudity and gore, in that order, so I’m expecting no holds barred in its sheer Jacobean gruesomeness! Seriously, it should be a hard-hitting production of this infamous play, and I will be fascinated to see how they perform it. This is scheduled to be the last performance of the run so I’m pleased we’re going to get to see it just in time. It doesn’t finish until 12:35am but I hope I will still be awake enough to provide my instant feedback, and by then the preview blog for tomorrow’s first production should be available to read too.

Post-show update:

Tis more of a pityWell that was fascinating! I’ve never seen the play before and now I’d really like to read and study it for myself. The aforementioned nudity was rather tasteful and charming – the gore at the end slightly less so. The production played up the surprising levels of ironic humour and there were a few very good performances. No cast list, so I can’t name names but I thought Anabella, Sorenzo, Giovanni, Vasques and Hippolita were particularly good. A satisfying end to a great first day! 

Further update:

I’ve discovered the cast names! So let’s honour Ellie Burke, Joss Gillespie, Louis Catliff, Jack Briggs and Hannah Raymond-Cox for their excellent performances!

Leave a Reply

