The Edinburgh Fringe One-Weeker 2017 – Joe Wells: I Hope I Die Before I Start Voting Conservative, 21st August 2017

Joe WellsAfter a late night, it’s a late start on Monday morning, I mean afternoon, with the latest show by Joe Wells, Joe Wells: I Hope I Die Before I Start Voting Conservative, at Sneaky Pete’s, at 12:05 on Monday 21st. Here’s his blurb: “Received opinion says that we become more right-wing as we get older. Joe Wells (support for Frankie Boyle and Alexei Sayle) is determined to grow up without selling out. Joe’s third solo stand-up hour after the critically acclaimed Night of The Living Tories and 10 Things I Hate About UKIP. ‘Some of the most surprising and thought-provoking material coming from any comedian’ (Guardian). ‘Recommended’ (Heat). **** (BroadwayBaby.com). **** (Chortle.co.uk). Writer for Have I Got News For You (BBC One) and The Revolution Will Be Televised (BBC Three).”

Joe WellsWe saw his 10 Things I Hate About UKIP last year which was a word-of-mouth hit and I wasn’t surprised. Mr Wells has a brilliant turn of phrase for political comedy and he often turns it back on his audience too, so left-wingers needn’t sit there all complacent either. If this is anything like last year it should be a brilliant show. Check back around 1.20pm to see how much we laughed. By then the next preview blog should be available to read too.

Once again Joe Wells has constructed a brilliant piece of comedy that turns all preconceptions on their various heads. Some fantastic notions and observations that make the hour fly by. It’s like watching a master craftsman. Simply superb. 

Leave a Reply

